lola guerrero

50-something empty-nest-search-for-God-and-happiness with more than a dash of humor

I wish Jesus had said “I am the pie à la mode of life”

Leave a comment

 

IMG_9004

I finally understood this verse. It took awhile.

Reading my notes from bible class I come across
John 6 v 35: I am the bread of life, whoever comes to
me will never go hungry.

As I meditate on these words,
suddenly the light in my brain switches on.

When I eat bread I get full, satisfied, and happy and
more fat gets stored under my chin. When we go to
Jesus and consume his word, I get full of his thoughts
and his ways, but I don’t get physically fat.
When we read the bible, our bodies are filled with
his spirit to direct us in the way he desires for us to go.

But the more I think about this verse, the more I realize
that I really wish Jesus had said,
“I am the bread and butter of life, whoever comes to
me will never go hungry.”

Butter is bread’s BF.
I eat more bread when there’s Blue Bonnet on it.

OR, what if Jesus had said: “I am the pie à la mode of life”

I’d devour the bible each night if it gave
me that same sugar high as a slice of homemade pie.
Actually, when I read the bible, I do get a high, but to
get that high I have to MAKE TIME  for it.

Eating? My day revolves around eating. It’s no trouble
at all to MAKE TIME for eating for me.
Place a pie with ice cream in my face, and I ‘ll greedily
eat the whole pie and lick the  platter.

Here’s what I know. Food and God’s Word go together.
That is what Jesus was talking about. Treat knowing the
bible like guilt-free eating.
Read/eat the words of God until you are satisfied and full.
Your faith will expand but not your waistline.
And with his spirit, your confidence will grow as you cast
your net into the sea of possibilities for your dreams.
With God NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE.

God’s word is like a slice of good bread with lots of butter on it.
It is like a big piece of delicious pie in front of us.
Take a big bite. Pick up your fork and dig in. Savor.
Consume scripture and let it roll around in your tummy
and nourish every cell in your body.
Taste and feel the goodness of God’s  word  in your life.

Author: lolaguerrero

50 something, mother of two, married, grandson named Napoleon. Love to go to the gym, watch films, act, write, jog, walk 10 miles with my husband, wine and travel. I"m a double tall, NF latte with half a pump of mocha with whip cream.

A glass of wine for your comments:

