lola guerrero

50-something empty-nest-search-for-God-and-happiness with more than a dash of humor

Life in the Slow Lane

Leave a comment

IMG_7292-2“Life in the slow lane.
Perhaps I should change lanes . . . .
What do you think?”
I whisper to my Wall
as I iron my husband ‘s
robot attire for work.
Most mornings I help him get ready and
many mornings I can do it with my eyes closed.

Why am I still in life’s slow lane?
I feel like I’m not moving towards my
goals and dreams. How many more shirts will I iron
and how many more meals will I whip up?

My vision board is plastered on another Wall in my house–one in my office.
Definitely ironing and cooking are not on there.
And I have a Mandela hanging next to my vision board.
And for other parts of my house, I hired a feng shui expert to
come and guide me on colors and
where to position things like the mirrors
and how to place my bed in my room.
This is all to attract positive vibrations
into my life.

Later on during the day I have to
pick up my mom for her
dentist appointment.
My favorite Christian radio station
is on. The DJ says, “Do you feel like your life lacks purpose?”

I nod, “Yes.”

“Do you feel like
what you are doing is unseen, unheard, and
unread.”

Triple Yes!

“Friends let me tell you–you are seen and heard.
Staying home to raise your  children is the most
important  job you will ever hold.
Helping at the food bank  and caring for others
first above all else is paramount in God’s eyes.”

Oh, I feel better already. Think I will
stay in my slow lane a little longer.

Dear God,
I know you have awesome plans for my life.
Teach me to be patient and not get ahead of
myself as I know it will unfold at the perfect time.

Amen.
Lola

Author: lolaguerrero

50 something, mother of two, married, grandson named Napoleon. Love to go to the gym, watch films, act, write, jog, walk 10 miles with my husband, wine and travel. I"m a double tall, NF latte with half a pump of mocha with whip cream.

A glass of wine for your comments:

