lola guerrero

50-something empty-nest-search-for-God-and-happiness with more than a dash of humor

Turn the Oven On Broil and Put Your Head In, Part 1

Leave a comment

IMG_5472-5

During our 30-minute lunch break
Ned who is an assistant in my photography class
scoots his chair next to mine.

A sweet man with a calm vibe, he clears his throat.
We have a lot in common. We both blog
and care for an aging parent . . . and orphans,
stray dogs, homeless relatives, . . .
whoever needs us.

“Lola, I know you blog. How often do you do it?” he asks while taking a bite of his sandwich.

“I post once a week. There are times I don’t know
what to blog about, but my whole issue is
finding the time to write.
You know I read that Beyoncé has 24 hours in a day like us and
damn! . . . she gets things done!!!”

He nods as he munches on a chip. “It does help to
have an entourage. ” he adds

“Aha.”

“The reason why I ask is that I barely have time
to do my blog. Yesterday was all about
calling the plumber, making a doctor’s appointment,
and taking care of Morticia our pug. She wasn’t feeling well.”
Then points to his partner, Floyd, who happens to be our instructor.
“And Floyd, I love him dearly, but he is a handful.”

Floyd is across the room twirling his spaghetti, ready for a huge bite.
He is smart and creative. I swear he knows just as much as Siri (the iPhone know-it-all). We had to break 30 minutes earlier than usual so he could
eat something — he told us his blood sugar was low.
I can see that he would be a 24/7 person to care for.

We all feel the pull of life, don’t we?
Life can be a bi#$! at times.
Driving kids to their synchronized swimming practice,
meeting the needs of our demanding partners, paying the bills, taking care of a sick dog.

The pull from everything and everyone is so great.
You just want to turn the oven on BROIL and put your head in.
The list of things TO DO goes on and on.

What does one do with these long TO DO lists?

–Part two tomorrow–

Author: lolaguerrero

50 something, mother of two, married, grandson named Napoleon. Love to go to the gym, watch films, act, write, jog, walk 10 miles with my husband, wine and travel. I"m a double tall, NF latte with half a pump of mocha with whip cream.

A glass of wine for your comments:

