lola guerrero

50-something empty-nest-search-for-God-and-happiness with more than a dash of humor

Dreadlocks

Leave a comment

IMG_3548

What is this man doing? Well, I have news for him.
I am talking to myself again.

Let me back up.
We went to a jazz concert last week.
Ol’ Wise One bought two tickets for a Friday night date.

I didn’t feel like going. It was dark
and rainy; hail came pouring down earlier in the day.
My idea of a date is rent a movie and sit next to each other on the couch.
With two bowls of popcorn between us.
Why two bowls?
I eat popcorn with no butter and no salt, and
he has his with lots of butter and tons of salt.

We had about 30 minutes until showtime,
and, of course, what do you know, there is a Starbucks
in the building right next to where we have to enter for the concert.

We get our bodies in line just like everyone else.
Then, this man in a wheelchair with Bob Marley dreadlocks
and his wife with the same hairstyle and pushing his chair begin to inch
in front of us. Really?

Oh wow, the voice in my head—the one that is always talking—got louder and louder.
Do they not see there is a line?
Just because you are in a chair, Bob Marley, does not mean you can
cut in line! I know you can’t walk, but I”m sure you have eyes.

The inner chatter went on and on.

I pretended that I didn’t see them.
Instead, my whole focus was on the butter croissants
all lined up perfectly straight in a row inside the display case at Starbucks.
I was wondering if my husband noticed that I was not budging an inch
for this man and his wife with the Bob Marley dreads.

Then, I felt my husband’s hand on my elbow
pulling me back.

“Let them go first,” he whispered in my ear.

I turned to my husband. “Why is it
that you don’t go to church unless someone
dies and you don’t attend bible class, but yet
you are such a gracious being? I’m the one
who goes to bible class and pray each day
and I have a “No, don’t think you are cutting in front of me just because you are
in a wheelchair” attitude?

“I don’t need to go to class to
show kindness to a man in a wheelchair.
He is in a wheelchair. We’re not. Our boys and grandson
can walk and run. He can’t.”
Ahh . . . I see your point.

I have come to realize
in the most unlikely moments, God is
always giving me  the chance to
put in action what I’m learning in bible class.

Dear God,
It would be unfortunate for me to be unable to walk or run.
I am grateful to you that I have my health and mobility.

Help me to be  patient with and always gracious to
others who have  physical limitations.

Amen,

Lola

Author: lolaguerrero

50 something, mother of two, married, grandson named Napoleon. Love to go to the gym, watch films, act, write, jog, walk 10 miles with my husband, wine and travel. I"m a double tall, NF latte with half a pump of mocha with whip cream.

A glass of wine for your comments:

