lola guerrero

50-something empty-nest-search-for-God-and-happiness with more than a dash of humor

Left Behind

Leave a comment

The iPhone 6 Plus is here! I have been waiting
for it. Oh, the design. It’s sleek, lighter,  slimmer
and has bigger frame to see the
chubby cheeks of my grandbaby, Napoleon.
Who cares that I may not be able to understand 98%
of what the iPhone can do to make my life quicker,
better, easier on this planet.

My excitement for a new phone equates to buying
a designer purse or shoes. With my hand on my heart
I say, “Lola, calm down,
it’s ridiculous to upgrade. You upgraded in June to an iPhone 5s
because the 4s was: OLD. And you are still learning how to figure out the 50+ apps that are on it.”

Change is good, change is constant, change is everything.
My son, Ralph, said to me, “Mom, you’ve got to ride the waves.”
I agree. However, can we slow it down a notch?

This is what I’m concerned about–my elderly relatives who
I shuttle each week to Rite-Aid and the dentist
to get their dentures adjusted and how they get left behind.

This makes me sad, more so because we are related and I see myself as a much older person when I look at them.

This week my Aunt Lucy asked if I can drive her to T-Mobile to
see what is wrong with her cell phone. She is 91 years old,
still has all her marbles, and she knows all the avenue names and
street addresses. She even knows
where all the cemeteries are located.

She tells me she can’t hear the ring tone on her cell, she can’t get to
her message box, and she lists a few more minor fixable issues. I looked at the phone, but had no success.

I soon realized my limitations when it comes to computers and
cell phones. I’m not as tech savvy as I would like to be.
I have yet to learn about DropBox, WhatsApp, I-message,
and Twitter.

Being left behind is no picnic. I notice more than anything
with the elderly is they have no one to talk to. They are isolated.
In their youth, they had a phone the size of a shoe box, could dial the number, and talk to a friend.
Now, if you want to talk to your children you touch a small phone
screen or you text, email, or Facebook them. All of these things are hard to do if you did grow up learning how to do them.

What can we do to stay connected as we grow older? What is our responsibility to our family, friends, and elders?

I do know that when I’m with my older relatives, I have to pray
first that God will shower me with patience. I really need it.
I also ask God to give me the ears to listen.

On the flip side, I realize that I also need these gifts from God when I attend my computer class every Tuesday at my local senior community center.

Seated next to me at Starbucks, I overheard the instructor, Bruce, telling a senior citizen how to navigate through her email. He noticed me eavesdropping.

Then, he handed me his card.
Would you believe he used to work
for Apple as an tutor? I took that information and his card as a SIGN for me to take his class so I WILL NOT be  left behind.

Dear God,
Change is never easy. I feel for my aunts and
mom who have a difficult time keeping up
with our technical world.

My prayer is that everyone today will be
more conscious of our senior citizens. Bless us
with compassion and patience.
Let us be first to notice them and say hi.

Let us not overlook them.

Remind us each day that it won’t be long until
we are the ones who need a ride to the grocery
store and dentist.

Amen,
Lola

Author: lolaguerrero

50 something, mother of two, married, grandson named Napoleon. Love to go to the gym, watch films, act, write, jog, walk 10 miles with my husband, wine and travel. I"m a double tall, NF latte with half a pump of mocha with whip cream.

A glass of wine for your comments:

